Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been neglecting the blog for a while due to September being incredibly busy, but I’m back!  And hold on to your butts, this is a great week for Halloween fans!

Sabrina

Sabrina #1

I have really been looking forward to this. You may have heard of Afterlife With Archie, in which Riverdale becomes plagued with zombies. I never read it because honestly I am sick of zombies, but when a Sabrina book was announced it certainly piqued my interest! I LOVED the Sabrina tv show when I was a kid, and apparently this book was inspired by Rosemary’s Baby. I have heard this isn’t for the faint of heart, and I am more than okay with that.
Wytches

  Wytches #1

A new horror series by Scott Snyder of American Vampire fame.  This time, however, he is taking on witches.  Again, I hear this really isn’t for  the faint of heart, but a great way to get in the Halloween mood!

Hexed

Hexed #3

Not a #1 issue, but to continue the theme of witches…well, sort of.  Lucifer isn’t a witch, but there’s magic used so I’m going to roll with it.  This series, for me, strikes the right balance between humour and horror, and I am very curious to see where it goes.  It would only be easy for you to catch up!

Batgirl

Batgirl #35

While issue #35, this is the beginning of a bit of a soft reboot for Batgirl.  You can start here, you don’t really need to read issues 1-34.  I haven’t!  I really miss Cassandra Cain and Stephanie Brown as Batgirls, but I am interested in the new look for Barbara Gordon and this and Gotham Academy sparked my interest.  You may have noticed I read mostly Marvel, and it has a lot to do with the way DC has been treating its female characters and fans.  Hopefully they have realized how much they are missing out on and we continue to get books like this.

Copperhead

Copperhead #2

Copperhead was a bit of a surprise for me last month.  It is a space western, featuring a sheriff who is also a single mother teamed up with a alien deputy in a one horse town.  #1 was a solid introduction to the setting and characters, and I have high hopes for this series.

captain marvel 8

Captain Marvel #8

Rocket Raccoon and cats?!  How lucky could Carol Danvers be!  I am still loving this series.

And that’s it for this week!  If you’re digging the witch theme, Coffin Hill #12 is out today as well, but I am personally collecting that series in trade.  Captain Marvel and She-Hulk also have trade paperbacks coming out today if you want to catch up on either series.

