Tags

Well, it looks like I finally have a weekly pull again!  This week’s list is short, but my wallet isn’t complaining.  I also have two new first issues I am very excited about!

fromunderthemountain

From Under Mountains #1

I actually haven’t heard much about this one, but the cover caught my eye.  This looks like something I’d find at a used book sale and devour.  I grew up on a lot of old pulp fantasy and this hits all the right nostalgia notes.  From what I’ve been able to find out about it, this is a fantasy series from an all female team, and reviews have mentioned the excellent fashion design so consider me intrigued and eager to dig into this.

papergirls

Paper Girls #1

Paper Girls is described as Stand By Me meets War of the Worlds, but what is making me pick this up is that it is written by Brian K. Vaughan (Saga) with Cliff Chiang on art.  I was not a fan of the New 52 Wonder Woman, but Cliff Chiang’s art kept me buying it long after I stopped enjoying the story.  I love how he draws women particularly, and I have no doubts that this is going to be a visual treat.

cyborg3

Cyborg #3

I’m not sure how much I’m enjoying the story so far, to be honest, but I really like how Cyborg himself is written and feel invested in him.   I’m not terribly familiar with Cyborg outside of the Teen Titans cartoon, but he seems like quite the cinnamon roll.  Too good for this world.

bitchplanet

Bitch Planet Vol. 1

If you haven’t been reading Bitch Planet, or like me you enjoyed the first issue or two and then got busy between school and moving, Image has a pretty sweet deal for the first volume.  It’s only $9.99 and this will catch you up completely if you wish to start buying single issues afterwards.

Enjoy!

