Tags

, ,

 

Screenshot_2016-03-04-15-16-53

Enter a caption

Writer: Kate Leth:

Pencils and Ink: Eman Casallos

Colorist: Valentina Pinto

Letterer: Erica Schultz

Cover: Chrissie Zullo

Full disclosure: I have never read a Vampirella comic before. I have been interested, but there were two problems: cheesecake is a bit of a turn off for me, and I had no idea where to get started. I’ve read up on her before, and all I know is that she’s some sort of vampire alien who fights supernatural monsters. With the relaunch (not reboot) giving Vampirella a new costume, and being penned by Kate Leth, I was hoping this was a good jumping on point and I was not disappointed.

Vampirella opens with a young actress cast as an extra making her way to a set at four in the morning. Once there, she and the other extras are instructed to run through the woods as if being chased, but ruh-oh, there are no cameras. We are then introduced to Vampirella, her werewolf boyfriend Tristian and her butler Coleridge who acts very much like Alfred from Batman, complete with awesome sewing skills. Those skills come into play once Vampirella is attacked at home, and lands herself on social media. This is a pretty clever way to introduce the costume change. Vampirella now knows that almost anything she does will be shown online, so maybe it would be better to wear something a little more low key than a barely there bathing suit.

Screenshot_2016-03-04-15-18-46

I do enjoy for the time that Vampirella is in her classic look, Eman Casallos does not put her in any cheesecake poses for no reason. In the story, she puts the costume on for her boyfriend, and then is attacked. You get why she would want to wear it, and then it makes sense why it doesn’t work anymore. For the time it is there she doesn’t seem to be posing for male readers, but reacting to the situation around her-seducing her boyfriend, then fighting.

The new look I think reminds me a bit too much of a Robin costume, but overall I do like the new design. It keeps her classic colours and collar, while being functional and will probably be a lot of fun to cosplay while having pockets for your phone and wallet.

Again, this isn’t a reboot, and Leth does not take the reader by the hand to explain who Vampirella is, but lets the story speak for itself. While I have questions, I do not at all feel confused. If you have seen or read any supernatural mysteries, this will be pretty straight forward. Vampirella has a wonderful balance of humour, sex and horror. If like me you have been curious about Vampirella, or looking for a new vampire story to read, I recommend picking this book up.

